Penumbra Collection Available ‘February’

Paradox Interactive has just announced that they will be releasing a very special collection pack for their creepy as hell Penumbra series.  Comprising of the full games Penumbra: Overture and Penumbra: Black Plague along with the recent expansion Requiem, all developed by the acclaimed two man development team at Frictional Games.  If you have never played these games before then this is a fantastic opportunity to do so, they are pretty fantastic horror games and are all currently available on Steam. And they have (literally) just announced a fairly vague ‘February’ 09 release date. No news on US pricing as of yet, but it is available in the UK for just £12.99 which is a great deal.

If you want to know more about the series, here is some handy information:

Penumbra Overture was originally released in March 2007, with critics hailing not only its fantastic storyline and sense of atmosphere, but also its innovative control scheme. Players interacted with the game world in a physically realistic manner – grabbing and moving objects, opening doors, climbing ladders, examining items – unprecedented in a horror title and therefore adding greatly to the immersion and the tension.

Penumbra Overture introduced players to Philip Buchanan who, following his mother’s death, receives a letter from his supposedly dead father, a man who left before he was even born, his reasons for doing so a mystery leaving Philip with many unanswered questions. The letter and those questions lead Philip to the arctic wastes of Greenland, to a location mentioned in his father’s ambiguous note and the beginning of our adventure as he begins to uncover disturbing facts about his past that not only affect himself, but all of mankind.

Seriously, the games are awesome, if not a little on the short side.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Recession Proof Gaming with ‘The Humble Indie Bundle’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What's New

To Top